All times are UTC

Post subject: Criminal record question
Post Number:#1  PostPosted: 10 Aug 2010 17:43 

Her/His Country: Russia
Times_to_FSU: 1
Hi folks! This is my first time posting on this forum! I am about to apply for my first Russian visa, and wondered if anyone had any experience or advice regarding applying for visa with criminal record.

I served a 12 year sentence, just over 6 years in prison, and the remainder on parole, which has just finished last month. The sentence will never be "spent".

I am worried about this because I want to visit my Russian girlfriend in Moscow. I have told her about my offences and we are making plans to marry. This trip would be used to put an engagement ring on her finger before she jets off to America to visit family. Needless to say I will not be granted entry to America.

The planned trip would last 4 days, and would be spent entirely in the company of my girlfriend.

I really want to know what is the best way to maximise my chances of being granted a visa. Should I write anything in the box provided for comments?

I hope someone can help ease my mind. I need to apply as soon as possible if I am to go at the beginning of September.

Post subject: Re: Criminal record question
Post Number:#2  PostPosted: 10 Aug 2010 18:18 
Banned

Times_to_FSU: Loads of time
scotty wrote:

I really want to know what is the best way to maximise my chances of being granted a visa. Should I write anything in the box provided for comments?

I hope someone can help ease my mind. I need to apply as soon as possible if I am to go at the beginning of September.

Hi Scotty, if I was in your position I would speak to the folks at realrussia.co.uk - I certainly wouldn't know what to advice.. as telling the truth might 'bugger' your application - and it may be unlikely that the Russians would know any different - for NOW.. ( what would happen if a Visa deal was done... ?)